REFRAMING MY MINDSET: MY TIME IS PRECIOUS

Photo by Jordan Benton on Pexels.com

As the glorious Easter vacation came to an end yesterday and the reality of back to school traffic sunk in, I decided to reframe my mindset for the 11 or 12 weeks.

In case you missed it, I wrote a blog post about my new commute titled “I Detest Vehicular Traffic” and over the last few weeks I’ve worked on retraining the way I approach my commute, my job, my work/life balance, my time.

I’ve accepted that I cannot divide my day into parts where 8 hours is dedicated to work, 8 hours is dedicated to sleep, and 8 hours is dedicated to myself. That thinking is simply not realistic. I spend 8 and a half hours in work, roughly 4 hours a day in traffic, and let’s say 1 hour getting ready for work. That means I’m left with 10.5 hours a day for myself. I aim to get 7 hours of sleep a night because I refuse to put myself and anyone else on the road at risk because I am driving sleepy. That means I am now left with 3.5 hours a day for myself.

Let that sink in for a moment: I have three hours and thirty minutes a day for myself.

Taking that into consideration, I am aware and very mindful that my time is precious and it is my responsibility to reframe my thinking around my time, how and who I spend my time with. It also means that I need to get creative with the way I spend my time in work and work related activities by setting health boundaries, prioritizing what is important and what is not, and most importantly being flexible with myself.

Reframing my mindset with the thinking that my time is precious will not be easy but it is a necessary task to ensure that I am the best, healthiest, and happiest version of myself.

Let’s have a conversation in the comments below: if you had to reframe your mindset about one thing, what would you reframe your mindset on and why?

THE END

In case you’ve missed it, I recently launched a new series entitled “My Journey To Fertility”. You can click here to read the first post.

LET’S CONNECT

Feel free to follow me and and say hi:

4 thoughts on “REFRAMING MY MINDSET: MY TIME IS PRECIOUS

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started