TOP REFERRERS FOR “MUSINGS OF THE MIND”

Photo by Magnus Mueller on Pexels.com

I’m not sure if anyone else has experienced a dip in views or if it’s just me alone, but I can safely that my views are down by at least 50% this year when compared to last year.

Since Musings of the Mind came into existence, I have mainly used two social media platforms to promote my blog: Facebook and Instagram. I casually used Twitter in 2022 but then I created a Twitter account specifically for my blog. There is a Pinterest account that I dabbled with and then I stopped using it.

Given the drop in views I am curious to see where most of my views come from. So let’s see what the WordPress statistics has to say.

2020 BLOGGING YEAR

The top referrer for 2020 was Facebook with 460 views. Coming in second place is the WordPress Reader with 386 views and third is Instagram with 292 views. Special mention to the 12 views from Google Search.

Most of the views came from my home country, Trinidad and Tobago with 836 views, followed by USA with 386 views, and then India with 153 views.

Now the reason for the high number of Facebook views for 2020 can be attributed to the guest blog posts I did for the Body Positive Movement series. One post in particular which brought in a lot of heavy traffic from Facebook is “Embracing Self Love“.

2021 BLOGGING YEAR

The top referrer for 2021 was WordPress with 892 views. Second was Facebook with 448 views and third is Instagram with 325 views. Special mention to Search Engines with 28 views.

Most of the views came from Trinidad and Tobago with 846 views, followed by USA with 663 views, and then the UK with 334 views.

The two blogs which brought in the most traffic in 2021 are “Daddy, I Got Engaged” and “An Open Letter To The Man Who Broke My Heart“.

2022 BLOGGING YEAR

The top referrer for 2022 was WordPress with 1,029 views. Second was Facebook was 582 views, third is Instagram with 275, and fourth is Twitter 182 views. Special mention to Search Engines with 27 views.

Most of the views came from USA with 1,029 views, followed by Trinidad and Tobago with 987 views and then India with 182 views. Special mention to Kenya with 181 views.

The post which brought in the most traffic is “Till Death Do Us Part“.

SUMMARY

I opted not to look at 2023 as the year is still on going but most of the views are coming from WordPress Reader for 2023.

Based on the last three years it means that a lot of traffic comes from WordPress Reader and Facebook, at least for me. Other social media sites like Instagram and Twitter do bring in views but not as comparable to Facebook. Even though the views are low on that end, I will still promote my blog on those platforms.

I am slightly curious to reengage Pinterest but I am guessing I’ll have to do some research to see how to utilize Pinterest effectively for blogging. But that will be a 2024 blogging goal.

Let me know in the comments below where do most of your views come from.

THE END

Previous week’s blog post is entitled “My Journey To Fertility: Crossroads“.

LET’S CONNECT

Feel free to hit the follow button on Instagram, Facebook, or Twitter and say hi.

2 thoughts on “TOP REFERRERS FOR “MUSINGS OF THE MIND”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started